« Seven Jewels: Distilled Wisdom from Jan Frazier's When Fear Falls Away: Third Jewel | Main | Seven Jewels: Distilled Wisdom from Jan Frazier's When Fear Falls Away: Fifth Jewel »

Seven Jewels: Distilled Wisdom from Jan Frazier's When Fear Falls Away: Fourth Jewel

Frog jumping.jpg

Fourth Jewel:

Skills of the Awakened


Three skills help us to adapt to the shift: the ability to function in both the outer and inner worlds like a frog in water and on land, the High Indifference, and Equanimity.
The first skill, the ability to shift focus between the inner world and the outer world, helps us to function in the world with a constant awareness of the universal consciousness in the background, (p. 59) and (p.186-187).  

The second skill is involves
detached compassion for human suffering. It is  “the High Indifference” Franklin Merrell-Wolff talks about (p.60). This involves being “both serenely indifferent and deeply concerned” (p. 65).
Finally Jan Frazier reminds us that the shift makes it easy for us to be emotionally balanced and more level headed. In other words, the awakening pulls us out of our daily emotional roller-coasters. 


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Hosting by Yahoo!
[ Yahoo! ] options


This is true enough but I don't believe the shift is a hundred percent forever. You can awaken and shift back and forth but you are also human and it is easy to get caught up in the emotion of things again - especially if you are empathic. Not always easy to stay balanced on this planet.

I see the point that you are making. I understand your idea of who an empath is.

I don't think the purpose of the shift is to stop being human. Rather, it is being human in a different way, in an extraordinary way.

Now if someone has not experienced the shift personally, or if an individual experienced the shift and lost some of it afterwards, it doesn't mean that everyone who has the shift will always lose some part of it.

Since belief is part of what makes our world what it is, I will caution us from belieiving that the shift does not last hundred per cent forever. I am proposing that for some people it can last forever hundred per cent.

And it will be interesting to identify people who have had the shift and are alive and have not lost any of it to find out what makes it that some people keep it while others lose it.

As I read this, I think it comes back to the question I hear a million times over, and repeated and repeated by the same folks that asked. What is the definition of this shift (enlightenment)?

I don't pretend to know the answer. But there are three ways I see it defined by people who are trying to define it.

There's the Oprah "aha" thing, enlightenment in snippets, moments. Anyone who denies having these is truly sleeping through life... 'cause if you talk to someone long enough, you can pull realization of several from them.

It seems like some use the words for a process. So maybe most monks and many religious people could fall into the classification. Normal people who seem to be doing, what, enough meditating?, anyway, normal people could be designated this way if they're transitioning through some spiritual opening of self.

And people might agree that there's a more conclusive type of definition, one that has a kind of ending that is a beginning. I've seen it described lots of ways, many saying there was an experience of "being drawn through the universe", or shown their path for life...

Permanence may hinge on which definition is in use. Since growth never ends, enlightenment itself is everchanging. But there do seem to be human things that fall away forever for people who are in that last category. Hmm? Or not... don't quote me.

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)